Hello Winter.

Mother Nature got her winter on, big time, over the last few days. It’s starting to feel like a normal winter instead of a messed up spring. So, I thought I would clarify some Canadian weather terminology.This is the temperature I woke up to this morning. Luckily there’s no wind chill. I recently learned that when the weather people say “wind chill warning” it means that wind chill temperatures are hazardous to life within several minutes of exposure. That’s basically fancy terminology for “go the heck back inside or you’ll get frostbite everywhere”. Welcome to Canada; home of mounted police, hockey and temperatures that can eventually kill you. Despite this, winter is still awesome.

This happened on Wednesday and made me glee and make snow angels and pelt the neighbour kids with snowballs because they’re the only ones who can appreciate it like I do (despite the fact that there was five of them and one of me, and I lost horribly). That’s what makes me love winter so much. That childish feeling you get when snow starts to fall and it makes you think of hot chocolate and warmth and stuffing snow down your friends pants. Winter makes me remember that it’s perfectly okay to be a big kid sometimes. Even if it makes my mother roll her eyes.

I’m going outside now to make another snow angel simply because I can. Have fun, where ever your winter is.

5 thoughts on “Hello Winter.

  1. Here in Toronto, we haven’t had more than a dusting of snow all winter and I miss it greatly (although not nearly as much as the kids – in fact they asked if we could move to somewhere that has more snow, like Timmins).

    • It really, truely is. I love Canadian winters; there’s just something so magical about all the snow and brightness. You should come visit us sometime in the winter. It’s worth it. โ™ฅ

  2. I won’t lie- I was happy I moved back out West before us East Coasters got frosty. That said, the picture made me homesick! Go pelt the neighbours/ kids once for me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Aaah, the joys of the Maritimes.

Leave a Reply

